Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Sensory Integration Disorder and the 7 Senses

The sense of sight, smell, touch, taste and hearing are commonly known as the "5 Senses". These are all external senses, meaning that you pick up these types of sensory information from your environment. There are 2 internal senses that are lesser known, but equally important and those are the sense of body movement and body awareness. Both provide your body with information about it's movement and position in relation to space and gravity.

Our senses are not individual channels of information. Everything in life is a multi-sensory event. For example, imagine spinning a round in circles; your ams outstretched and eyes open. You will pick up sensory information of the what you see as your circle the room. You will have a sense of where you are in the room, know that your feet are touching the ground below you. You'll feel that you are moving in a circular fashion as well as feel and hear the air as it passes through your arms and fingers. All of this information is processed together in the brain in many of the same neurological structures.

If any of these 7 senses aren't functioning optimally, symptoms of Sensory Processing Dysfunction (aka Sensory Integration Disorder) may become evident. These symptoms are will vary greatly from person to the next in both characteristics and intensity. In short, diagnosing someone with SID/SPD is really painting with a very broad brush. Learning about each of the 7 senses and what is associated with each one is an important step in fully understanding your child and how they perceive the world around them.

Visit [] for more information and support regarding Sensory Integration, PDD and other Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Article Source:

No comments:

Post a Comment